Should and Shame

How we talk to ourselves (and others) matters.

Photo by Jason Rosewell on Unsplash

I hope to never tell someone or myself what they or I should be doing. Even when said with the best intentions the phrase “You should be . . .” sounds judgemental and bossy. “Should” is a shame word. If we say we should be doing something, it means we are not doing that thing. “Should” implies doing something wrong, a lack, a failure. “Should” is dripping with shame.

“Should” as defined in the Oxford Dictionary:

verb

  1. used to indicate obligation, duty, or correctness, typically when criticizing someone’s actions.

I’ve heard the phrase toxic shame bandied about. Is there any shame that isn’t toxic? Apparently, yes. Not for me, though. Shame is crippling, immobilizing, incapacitating, paralyzing. Nothing good comes from shame.

Synonyms for shame (by Grammarly) include:

  • Remorse
  • Embarrassment
  • Guilt
  • Disgrace
  • Humiliation
  • Stigma
  • Crime

There are no positive connotations to these words. They are all toxic.

What if we removed “should” from our language? What if we stopped saying “should” to…

--

--

Jonica Bradley (Am I paranoid or RU following me?)

Writer/Painter/Poet/Believes in magic/nature/prays to unicorns/goat expert/bee farmer/mental health advocate/C-PTSD/human rights advocate/coolest person ever